### **MINUTES**

# BURLINGTON-GRAHAM URBAN AREA TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE TUESDAY, JUNE 15, 2021 VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS 9 AM

## MEMBERS PRESENT

Nishith Trivedi, Orange County (Chair)
Mike Nunn, Burlington (Vice Chair)
Nolan Kirkman, Burlington
Ben York, Alamance
Tonya Caddle, Alamance County
Cy Stober, Mebane
Peter Murphy, ACTA
John Andoh, Link Transit
Mark Kirstner, PART
Scott Rhine, PART
Bonnie Guo, GoTriangle

## BGMPO STAFF PRESENT

Wannetta Mallette Blake Cashmore

### NCDOT STAFF

Tamara Njegovan, NCDOT Division 7 Stephen Robinson, NCDOT Division 7 Andy Bailey, NCDOT-TPD

FHWA STAFF
Suzette Morales

## Call to Order

Chair Nish Trivedi called the June 15, 2021 TCC meeting to order at 9:07 a.m. and welcomed all members and guests. Ms. Wannetta Mallette conducted the membership roll call and established a quorum. No changes were made to the agenda and no speakers from the floor were present. Ms. Mallette said the May and June meeting minutes will be forwarded with the August agenda packet.

### FFY21 American Rescue Plan Act and FFY22 Section 5307 Suballocation

Ms. Mallette provided an overview of the American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act and Section 5307 formula funding for regional transit agency BGMPO suballocations. She said NCDOT and the FTA approved the suballocation schedule as presented and Mr. Peter Murphy, ACTA Executive Director, voiced concerns and opposition to the Section 5307 suballocation methodology as ACTA would lose funding. Mr. Murphy preferred that the exact percentages used in the fund suballocation. Ms. Mallette responded that the MPO held meetings with representatives from the five transit agencies and separately with

ACTA and NCDOT. As a result, NCDOT recommended corrective measures for future suballocations. Ms. Mallette concluded by requesting the TCC recommend TAC approval of the BFGMPO FY 21 ARP Act and FY22 Section 5307 suballocations.

Mr. Murphy raised his opposition to the vote. Mr. Nunn responded that the Section 5307 suballocation between NCDOT, transit agencies, and the MPO was developed years prior to Mr. Murphy's arrival. Chair Trivedi added that the formula fund regional allocations were developed by state and federal agencies. This was confirmed by Mr. Nunn and Mr. Scott Rhine. Ms. Mallette highlighted guidance from the recent meeting with NCDOT, which included recommendations to use exact figures and provide additional time for agency objections. Mr. Nunn voiced his support of the MPO implementing NCDOT's recommendations for future suballocations. There being no further discussion, Chair Trivedi called the vote to approve the BGMPO ARP Act and Section 5307 suballocations as presented. Mr. Mike Nunn made a motion to approve, seconded by Mr. John Andoh. The motion carried with one no vote by Mr. Murphy.

## FY 2020 - 2025 TIP Amendments

Ms. Mallette provided an overview of recent TIP amendments. The amended projects include the addition of two CMAQ projects and scope and schedule changes to W-5807B, a Boone Station Road pedestrian safety improvement project. Ms. Mallette then requested TCC approval of the TIP amendments. Mr. Cy Stober asked about the programming of CMAQ funds. Ms. Mallette responded that the CMAQ funds are for existing statewide STIP projects, not necessarily projects within the region. Chair Trivedi asked if CMAQ projects were included with congestion management projects. Ms. Mallette responded yes. Mr. Stephen Robinson made a motion to approve, seconded by Mr. Nunn. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

## **Agency Reports and Updates**

*FHWA:* No updates.

*NCDOT-TPD*: Mr. Andy Bailey announced that NCDOT underwent a structural reorganization. The TPD staff will now report to Chief Engineer Mr. Ron Keeter, Division of Highways. The Division of Planning and Programming will led by Mr. Joey Hopkins and now includes STIP, feasibility studies, Central Corridor Units and SPOT office operations.

*NCDOT-Division 7:* Mr. Robinson provided the Division 7 update. Mr. Cy Stober asked about the Old Hillsborough Rd @ Mebane Oaks Road intersection project. Mr. Robinson agreed to provide Mr. Stober the current project schedule.

BGMPO: Ms. Mallette reminded TCC members of the deadline to forward CTP comments to Mr. Daryl Vreeland.

# **Adjournment**

There being no further business, Chair Trivedi adjourned the meeting at 10:31 a.m. The next meeting was scheduled on <u>August 17, 2021</u>.